Home and Travel

Looking back from Venezia.

The sun was shining so bright today when we headed out to catch the train from Sacile to Venice, that it felt like spring, like the cold, early days of spring.

I’ve been lucky and blessed enought to see this magical city against various backdrops. May it be the cold temperatures and chilly winds blowing through the maze of canals in the winter, the burning hot summer sun making people look for shade in the shady little cul de sacs or the salty sea air playing in your hair while you walk along the the edge of Parco delle Rimembranze, enjoying the warmth of spring and observing the little lizards run along the stone edge on one side of the road and tranquil waves washing the edge of the patway on the other side, this city is always magnificent, always new.

I’ve had the most amazing year of my life here, 2016 was everything and more than I could have ever hoped for. Walking around in Venice today made me a bit sad though, a bit reminiscent because I know that this time next year we will be thousands of miles away from this beautiful city, this gorgeous country.

I can only hope that the new year will be as beautiful and full of love as this one. I’m waving to my friends and family in Estonia, I left with a heavy heart again and soon I’ll have to wave goodbye to Italy too but we will always have our memories, always. Until we meet again, arrivederci.

And to my little family here, you who make up my home and take up my heart – I love you, thank you for this amazing year! Together we stand strong, together we will sail the seven seas… 

Standard

Leave a Reply

