Fashion and Inspiration, Home and Travel, Style and Outfits

“These are a few of my favourite things…”

I remeber my first visit to Liberty London. And what I remember best about is not the wonderful things cluttered all around the space but the space itself, the atmosphere created. It was and still is one of my most cherished places in the world, a magical wonderland with squeaky stairs where I wanted to hide behing the ginormous rolls of Turkish carpets and live there forever.

And then there was the first trip to Venice. And well, Venice has a lot of pretty “things” scattered around the floating city! But for me it was the distinct smell of the salty hot air of the laguna that painted a picture of a shabby chic fairy tale into my memories. It was the first time I saw real palm trees and I remeber wanting to jump and clap, like a little girl! The sun was so bright and warm, I’d never felt anything like it.

You know that famous saying “Collect memories not things”, right? It has always come across as a little bit too patronizing or idealistic to me. I mean. Yes, memories are great but it’s even greater if you have someting to trigger and awaken these memories even when time passes and memories tend to fade. 

It’s apricot season. And up until this point I’d never tasted or smelled a fresh apricot. And the smell is intoxicating! It’s the smell of sun-drenched summer and true joie de vivre! And I want to remember this, really remember the feeling of smelling apricots on a hot summer day in Italy!

We need some “things”. We need people, our people around us to create memories with. And we need that warm fuzzy feeling we get inside when we think about that trip to Florence, Paris or London. We need it for happiness and the ability to carry these emotions and memories within us is, for me, the key to happiness. I’ll always have them, I’ll forever cherish them. These “things” – it can be a post card, a dried straw of lavender between a book, a scar you got when you went to wander on the cliffs. 

This is a picture taken today, on Middsummer’s Eve – a composition with apricots. What an amazing “thing” it is to have a photo of something that reminds you of sweet, sweet life. It’s like a proof that it really happened at a time you want to pinch yourself and ask “was it a dream?”. And I hate having useless things laying around the house and I try to live by Madam Westwood’s famous words: “Buy less, choose well, make it last”. But then there are these things, these little loved ones.

I collected some of them, let me introduce you to my favourite cotton scarf from Libery London (2013), sunglasses I got after returning from Venice with a headache caused by the intense sunshine (2011), a beach blanket from a trip to Jesolo (2016), a plate from Aviano vintage market (2017), my grandfather’s old camera that still shoots film (1970s-80s?), a broken strawhat from the local farmers market that made it to America and back (2016) and these   apricots from yesterday. 

“Cherish the love we have

 We should cherish the life we live”

Because,

“When the dog bites,

When the bee stings

When I’m feeling sad

I simply remember my favourite things

And then I don’t feel so bad” 

Standard

Leave a Reply

